The SGH foundation – Cyberworld research institute – is a non-profit Swiss foundation.

It is about an independent instrument from forward-looking analysis to contribute to the creation, the valuation, the promotion and to the broadcasting of the knowledge required for the governance and for the strategic control of the risks connected to technosciences and to their impacts on the society (and the alive).

It offers a study framework, analysis and independent debates dedicated to the technological evolutions and to their consequences on court, average and long terms. It has for objective to enlighten, to put in perspective and to stimulate new ideas relative to the governance of the risks and to the security.

It addresses firstly the political and economic decision-makers, the academic circles, the opinion leaders just as the representatives of the civil society.

Opened on the world, it favors the analysis and the forecast on the socioeconomic, political and technical affairs, through an interdisciplinary approach in the service of the common good.

Associating academics and practitioners stemming from various disciplinary fields, the research institute has for mission to realize the studies which are confided to it self, to contribute to the strengthening of the links between the academic studies, the strategic research and the reality of the political, economic and technological practices.

The institute brings its contribution to public debates, supports the radiation of the Swiss strategic thought in the regional and the international plan.

Mission and moral values

To study the transformations induced by the extensive use of Information Technology, in order to better understand, manage and orient them towards a sustainable, ethical and humanistic development of society.

Develop reflections, propose strategic orientations and provide pragmatic solutions to the problems associated with the interweaving of the digital and physical worlds, the convergence of electronics and biology, security and confidence needs.

The research institute’s work is based on transdisciplinary and holistic approaches and on trans-cultural and trans-generational teams, whose members share values such as:
the common good, the authenticity, the integrity, the knowledge, the verifiability and the empathy.

The digital villa Medicis

A veritable Observatory of a computerized and hyperconnected world, the Research Institute brings together personalities from the scientific, artistic, industrial, economic and political worlds at the national and international levels.

It is a place of encounter and dialogue between the economy, the Academy, politics, the artistic world and the general public conceived in the spirit of a Medicis Villa of digital and cybernetics.


The foundation’s fields of action fall under several headings:

  • To inform objectively.
  • Draw up concrete proposals in the fields of public action, the economy and social cohesion.
  • To promote exchanges and linking at the service of public and private entities regardless of their respective missions, political vision and economic stakes.
  • Carry out prospective analyses and recommendations in response to questions submitted to the foundation or deemed important by the Research Institute.
  • To provide constructive responses to the needs related to the control of risks related to the misuse, abuse, criminals, terrorists and conflicting technologies.
  • Conduct objective syntheses of risks associated with cybernetics and emerging and future technologies.
  • Preparing present and future generations for technological and societal change.
  • To benefit individuals and public and private organizations from scientific and technological advances.
  • To carry out actions to accompany and lead changes at the technological, economic, social and political levels.
  • Building human capacities to support the growth of technosciences for sustainable and inclusive development of society
  • Organize debates and report results.

Founding members


Joseph Bechaalany

Fabrice Consenti

Solange Ghernaouti (présidente)

Adèle Hélie

Philippe Thévoz